www.uhasselt.be
DSpace

Document Server@UHasselt >
Research >
Research publications >

Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/26313

Title: Single-Shot Detection of Neurotransmitters in Whole-Blood Samples by Means of the Heat-Transfer Method in Combination with Synthetic Receptors
Authors: Vandenryt, Thijs
van Grinsven, Bart
Eersels, Kasper
Cornelis, Peter
Kholwadia, Safira
Cleij, Thomas J.
Thoelen, Ronald
De Ceuninck, Ward
Peeters, Marloes
Wagner, Patrick
Issue Date: 2017
Citation: SENSORS, 17(12) (Art N° 2701)
Abstract: Serotonin is an important neurotransmitter that plays a major role in the pathogenesis of a variety of conditions, including psychiatric disorders. The detection of serotonin typically relies on high-performance liquid chromatography (HPLC), an expensive technique that requires sophisticated equipment and trained personnel, and is not suitable for point-of-care applications. In this contribution, we introduce a novel sensor platform that can measure spiked neurotransmitter concentrations in whole blood samples in a fast and low-cost manner by combining synthetic receptors with a thermal readout technique-the heat-transfer method. In addition, the design of a miniaturized version of the sensing platform is presented that aims to bridge the gap between measurements in a laboratory setting and point-of-care measurements. This fully automated and integrated, user-friendly design features a capillary pumping unit that is compatible with point-of-care sampling techniques such as a blood lancet device (sample volume-between 50 mu L and 300 mu L). Sample pre-treatment is limited to the addition of an anti-coagulant. With this fully integrated setup, it is possible to successfully discriminate serotonin from a competitor neurotransmitter (histamine) in whole blood samples. This is the first demonstration of a point-of-care ready device based on synthetic receptors for the screening of neurotransmitters in complex matrices, illustrating the sensor's potential application in clinical research and diagnosis of e.g., early stage depression.
Notes: Thoelen, R (reprint author), Hasselt Univ, Inst Mat Res, Wetenschapspk 1, B-3590 Diepenbeek, Belgium. thijs.vandenryt@uhasselt.be; bart.vangrinsven@maastrichtuniversity.nl; kasper.eersels@maastrichtuniversity.nl; peter.cornelis@kuleuven.be; safira.kholwadia@gmail.com; thomas.cleij@maastrichtuniversity.nl; ronald.thoelen@uhasselt.be; ward.deceuninck@uhasselt.be; m.peeters@mmu.ac.uk; patrick.wagner@fys.kuleuven.be
URI: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/26313
DOI: 10.3390/s17122701
ISI #: 000423285800001
ISSN: 1424-8220
Category: A1
Type: Journal Contribution
Appears in Collections: Research publications

Files in This Item:

Description SizeFormat
Published version3.8 MBAdobe PDF

Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.