www.uhasselt.be
DSpace

Document Server@UHasselt >
Research >
Research publications >

Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/25876

Title: The validation of simplified EEG derived from the bispectral index monitor in post-cardiac arrest patients.
Authors: Haesen, Jolien
Eertmans, Ward
Genbrugge, Cornelia
Meex, Ingrid
Demeestere, Jelle
Vander Laenen, Margot
Boer, Willem
Mesotten, Dieter
Dens, Joseph
Jans, Frank
Ernon, Ludovic
De Deyne, Cathy
Issue Date: 2018
Citation: RESUSCITATION, 126, p. 179-184
Abstract: We aimed to validate retrospectively the accuracy of simplified electroencephalography (EEG) monitoring derived from the bispectral index (BIS) monitor in post-cardiac arrest (CA) patients. Methods: Successfully resuscitated CA patients were transferred to the Catherization Lab followed by percutaneous coronary intervention when indicated. On arrival at the coronary care unit, bilateral BIS monitoring was started and continued up to 72 h. Raw simplified EEG tracings were extracted from the BIS monitor at a time point coinciding with the registration of standard EEG monitoring. BIS EEG tracings were reviewed by two neurophysiologists, who were asked to indicate the presence of following patterns: diffuse slowing rhythm, burst suppression pattern, cerebral inactivity, periodic epileptiform discharges and status epilepticus (SE). Additionally, these simplified BIS EEG tracings were analysed by two inexperienced investigators, who were asked to indicate the presence of SE only. Results: Thirty-two simplified BIS EEG samples were analysed. Compared to standard EEG, neurophysiologists interpreted all simplified EEG samples with a sensitivity of 86%, a specificity of 100% and an interobserver variability of 0.843. Furthermore, SE was identified with a sensitivity of 80% and a specificity of 94% by two unexperienced physicians. Conclusion: Using a simple classification system, raw simplified EEG derived from a BIS monitoring device is comparable to standard EEG monitoring. Moreover, investigators without EEG experience were capable to identify SE in post-CA patients. Future studies will be warranted to confirm our results and to determine the added value of using simplified BIS EEG in terms of prognostic and therapeutic implications.
Notes: Eertmans, W (reprint author), Hasselt Univ, Dept Med & Life Sci, Diepenbeek, Belgium. jolien.haesen@student.kuleuven.be; ward.eertmans@uhasselt.be; cornelia.genbrugge@uhasselt.be; ingrid.meex@zol.be; jelle.demeestere@kuleuven.be; margot.vanderlaenen@zol.be; willem.boer@zol.be; dieter.mesotten@zol.be; jo.dens@zol.be; frank.jans@zol.be; ludovic.ernon@zol.be; cathy.dedeyne@zol.be
URI: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/25876
DOI: 10.1016/j.resuscitation.2018.01.042
ISI #: 000430076700045
ISSN: 0300-9572
Category: A1
Type: Journal Contribution
Appears in Collections: Research publications

Files in This Item:

Description SizeFormat
Published version640.76 kBAdobe PDF
Peer-reviewed author version1.73 MBAdobe PDF

Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.