Document Server@UHasselt >
Research >
Research publications >

Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/23206

Title: Steering the Properties of MoOx Hole Transporting Layers in OPVs and OLEDs: Interface Morphology vs. Electronic Structure
Authors: Marchal, Wouter
Verboven, Inge
Kesters, Jurgen
Moeremans, Boaz
De Dobbelaere, Christopher
Bonneux, Gilles
Elen, Ken
Conings, Bert
Maes, Wouter
Boyen, Hans-Gerd
Deferme, Wim
van Bael, Marlies
Hardy, An
Issue Date: 2017
Citation: Materials, 10(2) (Art N° 123)
Abstract: The identification, fine-tuning, and process optimization of appropriate hole transporting layers (HTLs) for organic solar cells is indispensable for the production of efficient and sustainable functional devices. In this study, the optimization of a solution-processed molybdenum oxide (MoOx) layer fabricated from a combustion precursor is carried out via the introduction of zirconium and tin additives. The evaluation of the output characteristics of both organic photovoltaic (OPV) and organic light emitting diode (OLED) devices demonstrates the beneficial influence upon the addition of the Zr and Sn ions compared to the generic MoOx precursor. A dopant effect in which the heteroatoms and the molybdenum oxide form a chemical identity with fundamentally different structural properties could not be observed, as the additives do not affect the molybdenum oxide composition or electronic band structure. An improved surface roughness due to a reduced crystallinity was found to be a key parameter leading to the superior performance of the devices employing modified HTLs.
Notes: Hardy, A (reprint author), Hasselt Univ, Inst Mat Res IMO IMOMEC Inorgan & Phys Chem, Martelarenlaan 42, B-3500 Hasselt, Belgium. wouter.marchal@uhasselt.be; Inge.verboven@uhasselt.be; Jurgen.kesters@uhasselt.be; Boaz.Moeremans@uhasselt.be; Christopher.dedobbelaere@uhasselt.be; Gilles.Bonneux@uhasselt.be; Ken.elen@uhasselt.be; Bert.Conings@uhasselt.be; Wouter.Maes@uhasselt.be; Hansgerd.boyen@uhasselt.be; Wim.Deferme@uhasselt.be; Marlies.vanbael@uhasselt.be; An.Hardy@uhasselt.be
URI: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/23206
DOI: 10.3390/ma10020123
ISI #: All-diamond functional surface micro-electrode arrays for brain-slice neural analysis
ISSN: 1996-1944
Category: A1
Type: Journal Contribution
Appears in Collections: Research publications

Files in This Item:

Description SizeFormat
Published version3.6 MBAdobe PDF
Supplementary material2.4 MBAdobe PDF

Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.