www.uhasselt.be
DSpace

Document Server@UHasselt >
Research >
Research publications >

Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/21950

Title: Environmental factors in autoimmune diseases and their role in multiple Sclerosis
Authors: Jörg, Stefanie
Grohme, Diana A.
Erzler, Melanie
Binsfeld, Marilene
Haghikia, Aiden
Müller, Dominik N.
Linker, Ralf A.
Kleinewietfeld, Markus
Issue Date: 2016
Citation: CELLULAR AND MOLECULAR LIFE SCIENCES 73 (24), p. 4611-4622
Abstract: An increase in autoimmune diseases poses a socioeconomic challenge worldwide. Predisposing genetic risk has been identified, yet environmental factors make up a significant part of the risk in disease initiation and propagation. Next to improved hygiene and a gross reduction of infections, changes in dietary habits are one of the most evident Western lifestyle factors potentially associated with the increase in autoimmune diseases. Growing evidence suggests that particularly a typical ‘Western diet’, rich in saturated fat and salt and related pathologies can have a profound impact on local and systemic immune responses under physiologic and autoimmune conditions such as in multiple sclerosis (MS). In this review, we discuss recent findings on environmental factors influencing autoimmunity with an emphasis on the impact of ‘Western diet’ on immune homeostasis and gut microbiota in MS.
Notes: Kleinewietfeld, M (reprint author), Tech Univ Dresden, Med Fac Carl Gustav Carus, Dept Clin Pathobiochem, Translat Immunol, Dresden, Germany. stefanie.joerg@uk-erlangen.de; diana.grohme@gmail.com; melanie.erzler@biotec.tu-dresden.de; marilene.binsfeld@vib-uhasselt.be; aiden.haghikia@rub.de; dominik.mueller@mdc-berlin.de; ralf.linker@uk-erlangen.de; markus.kleinewietfeld@vib-uhasselt.be
URI: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/21950
DOI: 10.1007/s00018-016-2311-1
ISI #: 000387491800004
ISSN: 1420-682X
Category: A1
Type: Journal Contribution
Validation: ecoom, 2017
Appears in Collections: Research publications

Files in This Item:

Description SizeFormat
Published version677.95 kBAdobe PDF

Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.