www.uhasselt.be
DSpace

Document Server@UHasselt >
Research >
Research publications >

Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/19191

Title: Oxidative stress responses induced by uranium exposure at low pH in leaves of Arabidopsis thaliana plants
Authors: Saenen, Eline
Horemans, Nele
Vanhoudt, Nathalie
Vandenhove, H.
Biermans, Geert
van Hees, M.
Wannijn, J.
Vangronsveld, Jaco
Cuypers, Ann
Issue Date: 2015
Citation: JOURNAL OF ENVIRONMENTAL RADIOACTIVITY, 150, p. 36-43
Abstract: Anthropogenic activities have led to a widespread uranium (U) contamination in many countries. The toxic effects of U at the cellular level have mainly been investigated at a pH around 5.5, the optimal pH for hydroponically grown plants. However, since the speciation of U, and hence its toxicity, is strongly dependent on environmental factors such as the pH, it is important to investigate the effects of U at different environmentally relevant pH levels. Although U is poorly translocated from the roots to the shoots, resulting in a low U concentration in the leaves, it has been demonstrated that toxic effects in the leaves were already visible after 1 day exposure at pH 5.5, although only when exposed to relatively high U concentrations (100 mM). Therefore, the present study aimed to analyse the effects of different U concentrations (ranging from 0 to 100 mM) at pH 4.5 in leaves of Arabidopsis thaliana plants. Results indicate that U induces early senescence in A. thaliana leaves as was suggested by a decreased expression of CAT2 accompanied by an induction of CAT3 expression, a decreased CAT capacity and an increased lipid peroxidation. In addition, miRNA398b/c is involved in the regulation of the SOD response in the leaves. As such, an increased MIR398b/c expression was observed leading to a decreased transcript level of CSD1/ 2. Finally, the biosynthesis of ascorbate was induced after U exposure. This can point towards an important role for this metabolite in the scavenging of reactive oxygen species under U stress.
Notes: Saenen, E (reprint author), Boeretang 200, B-2400 Mol, Belgium. eline.saenen@sckcen.be; nele.horemans@sckcen.be; nathalie.vanhoudt@sckcen.be; hildegarde.vandenhove@sckcen.be; geert.biermans@FANC.FGOV.BE; mvhees@sckcen.be; jwannijg@sckcen.be; jaco.vangronsveld@uhasselt.be; ann.cuypers@uhasselt.be
URI: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/19191
DOI: 10.1016/j.jenvrad.2015.07.021
ISI #: 000364269200004
ISSN: 0265-931X
Category: A1
Type: Journal Contribution
Validation: ecoom, 2016
Appears in Collections: Research publications

Files in This Item:

Description SizeFormat
published version831.35 kBAdobe PDF

Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.