www.uhasselt.be
DSpace

Document Server@UHasselt >
Research >
Research publications >

Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/19064

Title: Smart Rehabilitation Garment for Posture Monitoring
Authors: Wang, Qi
Chen, Wei
Timmermans, Annick
Karachristos, Christoforos
Martens, Jean-Bernard
Markopoulos, Panos
Issue Date: 2015
Publisher: IEEE
Citation: Conf Proc IEEE Eng Med Biol Soc, p. 5736-5739
Series/Report: 2015 37th Annual International Conference of the IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society (EMBC)
Abstract: Posture monitoring and correction technologies can support prevention and treatment of spinal pain or can help detect and avoid compensatory movements during the neurological rehabilitation of upper extremities, which can be very important to ensure their effectiveness. We describe the design and development of Smart Rehabilitation Garment (SRG) a wearable system designed to support posture correction. The SRG combines a number of inertial measurement units (IMUs), controlled by an Arduino processor. It provides feedback with vibration on the garment, audible alarm signals and visual instruction through a Bluetooth connected smartphone. We discuss the placement of sensing modules, the garment design, the feedback design and the integration of smart textiles and wearable electronics which aimed at achieving wearability and ease of use. We report on the system’s accuracy as compared to optical tracker method.
Notes: Wang, Q (reprint author), Eindhoven Univ Technol, Dept Ind Design, NL-5612 AZ Eindhoven, Netherlands. q.wang@tue.nl; w.chen@tue.nl; annick.timmermans@uhasselt.be; karachristos.x@gmail.com; j.b.o.s.martens@tue.nl; p.markopoulos@tue.nl
URI: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/19064
DOI: 10.1109/EMBC.2015.7319695
ISI #: 000371717206005
ISBN: 9781424492701
ISSN: 1094-687X
Category: C1
Type: Proceedings Paper
Validation: ecoom, 2017
Appears in Collections: Research publications

Files in This Item:

Description SizeFormat
Published version833.04 kBAdobe PDF

Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.