Document Server@UHasselt >
Research >
Research publications >

Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/18847

Title: Comparing n- and p-type polycrystalline silicon absorbers in thin-film solar cells
Authors: Deckers, J.
Bourgeois, Emile
Jivanescu, M.
Abass, A.
Van Gestel, D.
Van Nieuwenhuysen, K.
Douhard, B.
D'Haen, Jan
Nesladek, Milos
Manca, Jean
Gordon, I.
Bender, Hugo
Stesmans, A.
Mertens, Robert
Poortmans, Jef
Issue Date: 2015
Citation: THIN SOLID FILMS, 579, p. 144-152
Abstract: We have investigated fine grained polycrystalline silicon thin films grown by direct chemical vapor deposition on oxidized silicon substrates. More specifically, we analyze the influence of the doping type on the properties of this model polycrystalline silicon material. This includes an investigation of defect passivation and benchmarking of minority carrier properties. In our investigation, we use a variety of characterization techniques to probe the properties of the investigated polycrystalline silicon thin films, including Fourier Transform Photoelectron Spectroscopy, Electron Spin Resonance, Conductivity Activation, and Suns-Voc measurements. Amphoteric silicon dangling bond defects are identified as the most prominent defect type present in these layers. They are the primary recombination center in the relatively lowly doped polysilicon thin films at the heart of the current investigation. In contrast with the case of solar cells based on Czochralski silicon or multicrystalline silicon wafers, we conclude that no benefit is found to be associated with the use of n-type dopants over p-type dopants in the active absorber of the investigated polycrystalline silicon thin-film solar cells. (C) 2015 Elsevier B.V. All rights reserved.
Notes: [Deckers, J.; Van Gestel, D.; Van Nieuwenhuysen, K.; Douhard, B.; Gordon, I.; Bender, H.; Mertens, R.; Poortmans, J.] IMEC, B-3001 Heverlee, Leuven, Belgium. [Deckers, J.; Mertens, R.; Poortmans, J.] Katholieke Univ Leuven, ESAT, B-3001 Heverlee, Leuven, Belgium. [Bourgeois, E.; D'Haen, J.; Nesladek, M.; Manca, J.] Hasselt Univ, Inst Mat Res IMO, B-3590 Diepenbeek, Belgium. [Jivanescu, M.; Stesmans, A.] Univ Leuven, Dept Phys & Astron, B-3001 Heverlee, Leuven, Belgium. [Abass, A.] Univ Ghent, IMEC, Photon Res Grp INTEC, B-9000 Ghent, Belgium. [Bourgeois, E.; D'Haen, J.; Nesladek, M.; Manca, J.] IMEC VZW, IMOMEC, B-3590 Diepenbeek, Belgium.
URI: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/18847
DOI: 10.1016/j.tsf.2015.02.058
ISI #: 000352219700023
ISSN: 0040-6090
Category: A1
Type: Journal Contribution
Validation: ecoom, 2016
Appears in Collections: Research publications

Files in This Item:

Description SizeFormat
published version597.16 kBAdobe PDF

Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.