www.uhasselt.be
DSpace

Document Server@UHasselt >
Research >
Research publications >

Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/17136

Title: Does Compliance to Patient Safety Tasks Improve and Sustain when Radiotherapy Treatment Processes are Standardized?
Authors: Simons, Pascale
Houben, Ruud
Benders, Jos
Pijls-Johannesma, Madelon
Vandijck, Dominique
Marneffe, Wim
Backes, Huub
Groothuis, Siebren
Issue Date: 2014
Citation: European Journal of Oncology Nursing (Online), 18(5), p. 459-465
Abstract: Purpose To realize safe radiotherapy treatment, processes must be stabilized. Standard operating procedures (SOP’s) were expected to stabilize the treatment process and perceived task importance would increase sustainability in compliance. This paper presents the effects on compliance to safety related tasks of a process redesign based on lean principles. Method Compliance to patient safety tasks was measured by video recording of actual radiation treatment, before (T0), directly after (T1) and 1.5 years after (T2) a process redesign. Additionally, technologists were surveyed on perceived task importance and reported incidents were collected for three half-year periods between 2007 and 2009. Results Compliance to four out of eleven tasks increased at T1, of which improvements on three sustained (T2). Perceived importance of tasks strongly correlated (0.82) to compliance rates at T2. The two tasks, perceived as least important, presented low base-line compliance, improved (T1), but relapsed at T2. The reported near misses (patient-level not reached) on accelerators increased (P<0.001) from 144 (2007) to 535 (2009), while the reported misses (patient-level reached) remained constant. Conclusions Compliance increased after introducing SOP’s and improvements sustained after 1.5 years, indicating increased stability. Perceived importance of tasks correlated positively to compliance and sustainability. Raising the perception of task importance is thus crucial to increase compliance. The redesign resulted in increased willingness to report incidents, creating opportunities for patient safety improvement in radiotherapy treatment.
Notes: Simons, PAM (reprint author), Hasselt Univ, Fac Business Econ, Martelarenlaan 42, B-3500 Hasselt, Belgium. pascale.simons@uhasselt.be; ruud.houben@maastro.nl; jos.benders@soc.kuleuven.be; madelon.pijls@maastro.nl; dominique.vandijck@uhasselt.be; wim.marneffe@uhasselt.be; huub.backes@maastro.nl; s.groothuis@maastrichtuniversity.nl
URI: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/17136
Link to publication: http://authors.elsevier.com/sd/article/S1462388914000726
DOI: 10.1016/j.ejon.2014.05.003
ISI #: 000343363400003
ISSN: 1532-2122
Category: A1
Type: Journal Contribution
Validation: ecoom, 2015
Appears in Collections: Research publications

Files in This Item:

Description SizeFormat
N/A1.55 MBAdobe PDF

Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.