www.uhasselt.be
DSpace

Document Server@UHasselt >
Research >
Research publications >

Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/15378

Title: beadarrayFilter: An R Package to Filter Beads
Authors: Forcheh, Anyiawung Chiara
VERBEKE, Geert
Kasim, Adetayo
LIN, Dan
SHKEDY, Ziv
Talloen, Willem
Goehlmann, Hinrich W. H.
CLEMENT, Lieven
Issue Date: 2013
Publisher: R FOUNDATION STATISTICAL COMPUTING
Citation: R JOURNAL, 5 (1), p. 171-180
Abstract: Microarrays enable the expression levels of thousands of genes to be measured simultaneously. However, only a small fraction of these genes are expected to be expressed under different experimental conditions. Nowadays, filtering has been introduced as a step in the microarray preprocessing pipeline. Gene filtering aims at reducing the dimensionality of data by filtering redundant features prior to the actual statistical analysis. Previous filtering methods focus on the Affymetrix platform and can not be easily ported to the Illumina platform. As such, we developed a filtering method for Illumina bead arrays. We developed an R package, beadarrayFilter, to implement the latter method. In this paper, the main functions in the package are highlighted and using many examples, we illustrate how beadarrayFilter can be used to filter bead arrays.
Notes: [Forcheh, Anyiawung Chiara; Verbeke, Geert; Clement, Lieven] Katholieke Univ Leuven, Interuniv Inst Biostat & Stat Bioinformat, B-3000 Louvain, Belgium. [Forcheh, Anyiawung Chiara; Verbeke, Geert; Clement, Lieven] Univ Hasselt, B-3590 Diepenbeek, Belgium. [Lin, Dan; Shkedy, Ziv] Univ Hasselt, Interuniv Inst Biostat & Stat Bioinformat, B-3590 Diepenbeek, Belgium. [Lin, Dan; Shkedy, Ziv] Katholieke Univ Leuven, B-3000 Louvain, Belgium. [Kasim, Adetayo] Univ Durham, Wolfson Res Inst, Thornaby TS17 6BH, Stockton On Tee, England. [Talloen, Willem; Goehlmann, Hinrich W. H.] Janssen Pharmaceut NV, Beerse, Belgium. forcheh@yahoo.com; Geert.Verbeke@med.kuleuven.be; a.s.kasim@durham.ac.uk; dan.lin2@pfizer.com; ziv.shkedy@uhasselt.be; wtalloen@its.jnj.com; hinrich@goehlmann.info; lieven.clement@med.kuleuven.be
URI: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/15378
ISI #: 000321944400017
ISSN: 2073-4859
Category: A1
Type: Journal Contribution
Validation: ecoom, 2014
Appears in Collections: Research publications

Files in This Item:

Description SizeFormat
N/A200.94 kBAdobe PDF

Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.