Document Server@UHasselt >
Research >
Research publications >

Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/14689

Title: An Eco-friendly Hybrid Urban Computing Network Combining Community-based Wireless LAN Access and Wireless Sensor Networking
Authors: Wijnants, Maarten
Lamotte, Wim
Letor, Nicolas
Blondia, Chris
De Poorter, Eli
Naudts, Dries
Verstichel, Stijn
Lannoo, Bart
Moerman, Ingrid
Matthys, Nelson
Huygens, Christophe
Issue Date: 2012
Publisher: IEEE
Citation: Proceedings of the 2012 IEEE International Conference on Green Computing and Communications, p. 410-417
Abstract: Computer-enhanced smart environments, distributed environmental monitoring, wireless communication, energy conservation and sustainable technologies, ubiquitous access to Internet-located data and services, user mobility and innovation as a tool for service differentiation are all significant contemporary research subjects and societal developments. This position paper presents the design of a hybrid municipal network infrastructure that, to a lesser or greater degree, incorporates aspects from each of these topics by integrating a community-based Wi-Fi access network with Wireless Sensor Network (WSN) functionality. The former component provides free wireless Internet connectivity by harvesting the Internet subscriptions of city inhabitants. To minimize session interruptions for mobile clients, this subsystem incorporates technology that achieves (near-)seamless handover between Wi-Fi access points. The WSN component on the other hand renders it feasible to sense physical properties and to realize the Internet of Things (IoT) paradigm. This in turn scaffolds the development of value-added end-user applications that are consumable through the community-powered access network. The WSN subsystem invests substantially in ecological considerations by means of a green distributed reasoning framework and sensor middleware that collaboratively aim to minimize the network's global energy consumption. Via the discussion of two illustrative applications that are currently being developed as part of a concrete smart city deployment, we offer a taste of the myriad of innovative digital services in an extensive spectrum of application domains that is unlocked by the proposed platform.
Notes: Addresses: Hasselt Univ, tUL, IBBT, Expertise Ctr Digital Media, B-3590 Diepenbeek, Belgium E-mail Addresses: maarten.wijnants@uhasselt.be; wim.lamotte@uhasselt.be; nicolas.letor@ua.ac.be; chris.blondia@ua.ac.be; eli.depoorter@intec.ugent.be; dries.naudts@intec.ugent.be; stijn.verstichel@intec.ugent.be; bart.lannoo@intec.ugent.be; ingrid.moerman@intec.ugent.be; nelson.matthys@cs.kuleuven.be; christophe.huygens@cs.kuleuven.be
URI: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/14689
Link to publication: http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/xpl/freeabs_all.jsp?arnumber=6468344&abstractAccess=no&userType=inst
DOI: 10.1109/GreenCom.2012.66
ISI #: 000316905100057
ISBN: 978-1-4673-5146-1
Category: C1
Type: Proceedings Paper
Validation: ecoom, 2014
Appears in Collections: Research publications

Files in This Item:

Description SizeFormat
Main article1.75 MBAdobe PDF

Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.