Document Server@UHasselt >
Research >
Research publications >

Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/13192

Title: The ISOS-3 inter-laboratory collaboration focused on the stability of a variety of organic photovoltaic devices
Authors: Tanenbaum, David M.
Hermenau, Martin
Voroshazi, Eszter
Lloyd, Matthew T.
Galagan, Yulia
Zimmermann, Birger
Hosel, Markus
Dam, Henrik F.
Jorgensen, Mikkel
Gevorgyan, Suren A.
KUDRET, Suleyman
MAES, Wouter
LUTSEN, Laurence
Wuerfel, Uli
Andriessen, Ronn
Roesch, Roland
Hoppe, Harald
Teran-Escobar, Gerardo
Lira-Cantu, Monica
Rivaton, Agnes
Uzunoglu, Gulsah Y.
Germack, David
Andreasen, Birgitta
Madsen, Morten V.
Norrman, Kion
Krebs, Frederik C.
Issue Date: 2012
Citation: RSC ADVANCES, 2(3), p. 882-893
Abstract: Seven distinct sets (n >= 12) of state of the art organic photovoltaic devices were prepared by leading research laboratories in a collaboration planned at the Third International Summit on Organic Photovoltaic Stability (ISOS-3). All devices were shipped to RISO DTU and characterized simultaneously up to 1830 h in accordance with established ISOS-3 protocols under three distinct illumination conditions: accelerated full sun simulation; low level indoor fluorescent lighting; and dark storage with daily measurement under full sun simulation. Three nominally identical devices were used in each experiment both to provide an assessment of the homogeneity of the samples and to distribute samples for a variety of post soaking analytical measurements at six distinct laboratories enabling comparison at various stages in the degradation of the devices. Over 100 devices with more than 300 cells were used in the study. We present here design and fabrication details for the seven device sets, benefits and challenges associated with the unprecedented size of the collaboration, characterization protocols, and results both on individual device stability and uniformity of device sets, in the three illumination conditions.
Notes: [Tanenbaum, David M.; Hosel, Markus; Dam, Henrik F.; Jorgensen, Mikkel; Gevorgyan, Suren A.; Andreasen, Birgitta; Madsen, Morten V.; Norrman, Kion; Krebs, Frederik C.] Tech Univ Denmark, Riso Natl Lab Sustainable Energy, Solar Energy Programme, DK-4000 Roskilde, Denmark. [Tanenbaum, David M.] Pomona Coll, Dept Phys & Astron, Claremont, CA 91711 USA. [Hermenau, Martin] Tech Univ Dresden, Inst Angew Photophys, Arbeitsgrp Organ Solarzellen OSOL, D-01062 Dresden, Germany. [Voroshazi, Eszter] IMEC, B-3000 Louvain, Belgium. [Voroshazi, Eszter] Katholieke Univ Leuven, ESAT, B-3000 Louvain, Belgium. [Lloyd, Matthew T.] Natl Renewable Energy Lab, Golden, CO 80401 USA. [Galagan, Yulia] Holst Ctr, NL-5656 AE Eindhoven, Netherlands. [Zimmermann, Birger] Fraunhofer Inst Solar Energy Syst ISE, D-79110 Freiburg, Germany. [Kudret, Suleyman; Maes, Wouter; Vanderzande, Dirk] Hasselt Univ, B-3590 Diepenbeek, Belgium. [Lutsen, Laurence] IMEC, IMOMEC Associated Lab, B-3590 Diepenbeek, Belgium. [Wuerfel, Uli] Fraunhofer Inst Solar Energy Syst ISE, D-79110 Freiburg, Germany. [Andriessen, Ronn] Holst Ctr, NL-5656 AE Eindhoven, Netherlands. [Roesch, Roland; Hoppe, Harald] Ilmenau Univ Technol, Inst Phys, D-98693 Ilmenau, Germany. [Teran-Escobar, Gerardo; Lira-Cantu, Monica] ETSE, Lab Nanostruct Mat Photovolta Energy, CIN2, CSIC, E-08193 Barcelona, Spain. [Rivaton, Agnes] Univ Clermont Ferrand, Clermont Univ, LPMM, F-63000 Clermont Ferrand, France. [Rivaton, Agnes] CNRS, LPMM, UMR6505, F-63177 Aubiere, France. [Uzunoglu, Gulsah Y.] TUBITAK Natl Metrol Inst UME, Photon & Elect Sensors Lab, TR-41470 Gebze, Kocaeli, Turkey. [Germack, David] Brookhaven Natl Lab, Upton, NY 11973 USA. dtanenbaum@pomona.edu; martin.hermenau@iapp.de; eszter.voroshazi@imec.be; Matthew.Lloyd@nrel.gov; yulia.galagan@tno.nl; Birger.Zimmermann@ise.fraunhofer.de; mhqs@risoe.dtu.dk; hfda@risoe.dtu.dk; mijq@risoe.dtu.dk; surg@risoe.dtu.dk; laurence.lutsen@imec.be; dirk.vanderzande@uhasselt.be; uli.wuerfel@ise.fraunhofer.de; ronn.andriessen@tno.nl; roland.roesch@tu-ilmenau.de; harald.hoppe@tu-ilmenau.de; monica.lira@cin2.es; agnes.rivaton@univ-bpclermont.fr; gulsah.uzunoglu@ume.tubitak.gov.tr; dsgermack@gmail.com; baan@risoe.dtu.dk; mves@risoe.dtu.dk; kino@risoe.dtu.dk; frkr@risoe.dtu.dk
URI: http://hdl.handle.net/1942/13192
DOI: 10.1039/c1ra00686j
ISI #: 000299177000022
ISSN: 2046-2069
Category: A1
Type: Journal Contribution
Validation: ecoom, 2013
Appears in Collections: Research publications

Files in This Item:

Description SizeFormat
published version1.63 MBAdobe PDF

Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.